My Blog

Brief History of the Department

The Department of Business and Industrial Law was created out of the department of Private Law at the 231st Senate meeting of the University held on 27th April, 2016. The department took effect from the 1st of August, 2015. Dr. W. A. Adebayo who served as the Departmental Acting Head from August 2015- July 2017 was the first Head of Department. Dr. O. J. Adeoye served as the Acting Head of the Department from August 2017- July 2019. Dr. B. O. Eniola was the Acting head from August 2019- July 2021. The current Acting Head of Department is Dr. M. S. Afolayan from August 2021 till date.

The philosophy of the department is to function within the context of the global philosophy of the Faculty. Thus, its broad aim is to equip the students with the requisite qualifications, skills and experience in the sphere of Business and Industrial Law Courses like Company Law, Commercial Law, Law of Contract, Taxation Laws, Law of Banking and Insurance, Labour and Industrial Laws and Copyright and Intellectual Property Laws with the view to making them competent lawyers in public business and private business sectors of the Nigerian Economy. Courses in the Department are tailored after the NUC and Council of Legal Education approved syllabi and are to be reviewed from time to time to make them relevant to the need of the dynamic Nigerian society. Lecturers from the Department also teach business and company law courses in the cognate Faculties and Departments like Business Administration Department, Accounting Department and Finance Department in the Faculty of Management of Sciences as well as Vocational and Technical Education Department in the Faculty of Education.

The Objectives of the Department are to:

  • expose students to the basic skills in courses available in the Department;
  • train the students and relate these subjects to their application in practice;
  • inculcate in the students the necessary skills to carry out independent research and at a more advanced level in these subject areas;
  • encourage collaborative partnership and linkages in training and research with other institutions of learning locally and internationally;
  • contribute to the manpower needs of the University, the country and the international community in the subject areas taught in the Department; and
  • attract funds and grants to promote research in Business and Industrial Law and related subjects

List of Courses Domiciled in the Department of Business and Industrial Law

LBI 203: Law of Contract I (4 Units)

LBI 204: Law of Contract II (4 Units)

LBI 207: Labour Law (4 Units)

LBI 208: Industrial Relations Law (4 Units)

LBI 305: Commercial Law I (4 Units)

LBI 306: Commercial Law II (4 Units)

LBI 307: Law of Intellectual Property (4 Units)

LBI 308: Law of Industrial Property (4 Units)

LBI 407: Law of Banking and Negotiable Instruments (4 Units)

LBI 408: Law of Insurance (4 Units)

LBI 413: Law of Personal Taxation (4 Units)

LBI 414: Law of Business Taxation (4 Units)

LBI 503: Company Law I (4 Units)

LBI 504: Company Law II (4 Units)